L8, OS 10.4.11 and Firewire 410

tele333

Can the M-Audio Firewire 410 be used with Logic Pro 8 running on a 2.8 GHz iMac w/ Intel Core 2 Duo OS ver 10.4.11?

M-audio's website is not clear (at least to me), they say not w/ Leopard, but their updated drivers only go to 10.4.10. I know others on this forum are using the FW410...but how?!

I just bought a new iMac, new Logic Pro 8, and new FW 410 and I can't get them to talk to each other.

I'm really new at all this...so apologies if this question is inappropriate.

Thanks.

tele

I'll respond to my own post in case anyone else has a similar situation...

I returned the M-Audio firewire 410. My software and computer would not acknowledger the fw410 interface. The M-audio website did not provide any indication as to the availability of a driver. I returned the fw410 and bought a MOTU ultralight. It booted right up...no problems...I was making music in 10 minutes. But with the fw410 I essentially wasted about 4 hours.

My advice...if you have any kind of Mac, avoid M-audio interfaces...and if you have a PC, make sure the current drivers are available before you buy.

I also have (in another computer) a m-audio delta 66 and an omni I/O...these have worked perfectly for 5 years without a single problem...that's why I wanted the fw410 for my iMac (BIG mistake!!)

My advice...if you have any kind of Mac, avoid M-audio interfaces

I have to disagree.

I have the Audiophile 192 w/ Driver 2.07 on a G5 dual 2.0 OS 10.4.11. I had difficulty getting it to connect to the AudioMidi Setup until I called M-Audio.

The trick is in the S/PDIF pane. Check the "compatibility mode" and it works like a champ.

My next challenge is setting up a 16 channel orchestra using Halion 3 in LE8. A new learning curve but I think I'll get it.

Hi all,(first post here but i come often!!)