program To Keep the harddisk clean?

Hola! I'm pretty new in mac world ...I would like to know wich cares should I take for keeping the HD clean and "healthy" I have a PBook 6,7 with 1,5 Gb RAm and basicaly I use it for audio With Logic Pro and an external LaCie Fw800. Should I get Coctail, Onix or any other?? What are the good things of these programs?? I sometimes do "repair permits" and "sfck" ..Tanhx for your advises

No: you don't need any of these pseudo-geek tools. They all duplicate what the system already does on its own, or when using the disk utility program; besides, some of their functions are potentialy dangerous when misused. If you're serious about maintenance, the only tool I know is TechTool from MicroMat, but I'm not sure you need this either.

Mac OS X takes care of itself if you leave it running 24/7. There are tasks scheduled to run in the background that will do the house-keeping for you. If you turn your machine off, then it's your responsability to manually trigger the tasks that should normally have run in the middle of the previous night... But why bother?

Ah! And another safety principle: always keep at least 10% of your drive free, so that the O.S. has room enough to move things around. It'll thank you.

It depends: this is adjustable. Unix users generally don't care since they never turn their machines off. There are tasks to be performed on every day, some every week, and some others every month.

By default, the tasks run at 3:15am and 5:30am. There are different 3rd party software you can use to manually run those tasks anytime you want. For more info, read http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=107388

Just leave your mac on if you're using it everyday. Turn it off at night maybe once a week or when you're not going to use it for more than 24Hr.