DC Offset upon Stereo Sum Limiting

sonicXpro

Hi,

I am new to this forum, I am a pro audio engineer who has enough of protools and I am working with a macbook pro plus apogee symphony mobile while I am abroad teaching and recording in another country.

I just recently switched back to Logic Pro after avoiding it for some years, working on Protools (if I had to) and Nuendo. Now with Logic 8, it seemed that many issues that I had with Logic in the old days have been fixed.

Nonetheless, whenever I am trying to master inside the software, I get some DC offset in the bounced stereo file whenever I use a limiter on the output (to limit the stereo mix). It happens with Logic's own limiter (just tried that one out), Waves L1 and the Sonnox Limiter (which I normally use).

Is there any explanation, workaround or fix for this issue,

thanks a lot,

Martin

Hi Martin, welcome :-)

The long explanation and the solution (hopefully)

True DC offset can only occur naturally OTB. Apogee converters are all prone to DC offset a bit in the A/D, including the Rosetta 800. Granted, we're talking way down, but i'ts not 0% like RME et al. This doesn't mean they sound bad (which they obviously don't) but they're not technically perfect in that regard.

If you're getting a post A/D DC offset like syndrome ITB (offset of the waveform) that's a bit puzzling, especially if you're experiencing it no matter what limiter you put on.

Let's take it from the top:

1) You bounce a stereo mix as WAV with NO limiter on: no DC offset (apparently)

2) You bounce the same stereo mix as WAV WITH any limiter on: DC offset

Correct? You're not bouncing to mp3? And you're not clipping at some point? (aliasing artifacts when clipping can lead to foldback of frequencies which can lead to massive subfrequencies, looking like DC offset).