How to change input device for existing concert file?

shugs

Hi Guys,

I've been using MainStage for a few months now, with my old Edirol controller. I've spent a lot of time setting everything up. I have around 50 patches set up, some of which have 6-7 instruments and splits and effects that I've individually tweaked.

I just got a new controller earlier today, an Axiom 61, and I can't seem make it work with my existing concert file.

If I start a new file from scratch, it's all fine ... I get "Device 1" as my default input device and it's good.

Opening up my existing file, and I can't see how to make it work with the Axiom. In each channel strip, I only have the option of selecting EDIROL PCR or None as my input device.

Please tell me I don't have to start a new concert file and set everything up from scratch again just because I got a new keyboard!!!

All help greatly appreciated.

Cheers,

Tony

BTW: Love Logic. Love MainStage.

A bit more info:

* Yes, I do see midi events being sent when I press keys. To the same channel as with the old controller.

* When I said I only have the option of selecting "EDIROL PCR", or "None" ... that's in the "Key Range" section of the "Channel Strip Inspector" for each channel strip.

* Shouldn't there just be something in "Preferences -> Audio/Midi" that just lets me select the input midi device to use for everything?

OK. Just found that clicking on the keyboard in Layout view gives me exactly what I want :-)

In the Hardware Assignment section, the Port 2 Axiom device was selected by default. Had to change it to Port 1.

And it looks like that "EDIROL PCR" name that appears as a device everywhere else is changeable to anything you like.

I just got a new controller earlier today, an Axiom 61, and I can't seem make it work with my existing concert file.

The Axiom 61 is a nice one, I have a 49. Works great with MainStage.