Has anyone used the ensemble yet?

Or even heard it or seen it being used. Just want to know becuase it does seem kind of pricey compared to other options out there. I think it is awesome that it works natively with mac and logic, but still, seems expensive and not worth it.

Anyone have any other suggestion if this is not a good option? I have the money to purchase anything around this price range now, just don't want to waste it all if I don't have to.

Thanks in advance!

I have used it, however I don't believe it is shipping yet.

I don't think it is pricey for what it claims to offer. However:

1) It is not shipping yet.

2) It is brand new, and not tested by the wide range of systems that all potential customers use.

If you can wait a few months, then you'll be able to compare the Ensemble with other interfaces in its price range. Right now you can't.

If you can't wait, go for RME Fireface.

I am only too aware of that.

I've been using Logic for a couple of months now without an interface - everything MIDI or apple loops for audio. I'm a singer/guitarist mostly and miss the sound of my acoustic strumming chords in the mix.

It has to ship eventually. I'm willing to wait a bit yet, because I don't see anything out there that quite compares.

Paul

Like I said: the problem is even when it ships, chances are the drivers won't be stable at first, or who knows what could be wrong. You can't test every possible Computer/Audio Interface/DAW... combination in a lab. It's only once the product is out that you have a large customer-base doing the testing for you.

If you're a professional, you don't want to be a part of that pool of beta-testers.

My 2cents: get something that works now, or get the Ensemble about 3 months after it ships, if reports from customers/beta-testers are positive.

I understand your concerns. I look at it this way . . .