Can Mainstage 2 drive Apple Keynote, or other video/slides?

Shawn S

Greetings fellow Logicians...

I'm a Logic 8 newbie, and am looking to upgrade to 9, mainly for Mainstage 2. I'm a one-man band. Years ago I used to have a full-blown MIDI show with a simple footswitch driving sequencers, keys, drum machines, and complicated lighting all via a very cool setlist feature in a program called MasterTrax Pro (rest it's soul...they went out of business years ago, as did the support for newer OS's). I'm looking to resurrect this idea again in concert, and I'd like to add video/slides, if possible...

I'm looking to use a footswitch (Apogee GiO or Roland FC-300) to control Mainstage 2 in concert to call up/launch: Playback audio, guitar patches, do live looping, drive keyboard MIDI instruments & fx, and lighting cues via MIDI. I'm really psyched about this. (Looks like this will all work via MIDI control changes with Mainstage, and one of the above pedal boards connected to my MacBook Pro via USB, right?).

Here's my dilemma and main question: Is there any way that Mainstage 2 can drive Keynote (slides/video/text) via MIDI control/patch changes, or via some other protocol? (i.e. Hit a footswitch button, and it jumps to a specific slide/sequence, based on a MIDI control change, or other protocol?) Or, is there any way to drive other multi-media programs (Quicktime, Powerpoint, Mediashout, etc.) via Mainstage? My goal is to hit one footswitch which will launch both the audio (Mainstage) and video/slide-show (Keynote or other program) via MIDI-mapping in Mainstage, ideally both playing on the same computer, or 2 Macs synced, if necessary.