Using multiple MIDI controllers

calmchaos

Hi,

I'm a DJ and producer and and I'm trying to integrate my keyboard and drum machine into my DJ set. I love Mainstage and use it pretty often in performing.

Here's the issue: For DJing I use a Numark NS7, which is a USB controller and audio unit built into one. I'm running the audio out from my Macbook Pro into the Aux channel of my NS7, which works great for the keyboard. However, Mainstage is recognizing the NS7 as a MIDI controller, and when the turntables start going, the MIDI goes crazy. I want to use the NS7 as an audio unit but don't want Mainstage to accept any incoming MIDI from it. Is it possible to disable that somehow in Mainstage? I went into the MIDI Setup as well but was not able to change any settings on my NS7. Any other ideas? Thanks in advance!

I have a similar issue with mainstage 2. I'm using Live in conjunction with Mainstage and even though I have my APC 40 assigned to nothing in Mainstage, any time I touch a slider, all of the volume sliders in Mainstage will move at the same time. Mainstage 1 didn't do this

Assign it to a workspace object and it is done.

I have a similar issue with mainstage 2. I'm using Live in conjunction with Mainstage and even though I have my APC 40 assigned to nothing in Mainstage, any time I touch a slider, all of the volume sliders in Mainstage will move at the same time. Mainstage 1 didn't do this

You mean assign the APC40 to something in the workspace, like a slider or knob?

You mean assign the APC40 to something in the workspace, like a slider or knob?

Yes, every MIDI device should either have a keyboard object or a MIDI Activity LED (which acts the same way) in the layout mode, because these objects are the _input_ for the channel strips in Edit mode. If you don't do that, MainStage simply listens to everything.