concerts and patches. most efficient way to setup

shaneblyth

I am new to mainstage and noticed if i loaded a ton different patches in a concert that it chewed the memory up especially.

I am not sure how mainstage exactly loads patches in but quite a few of mine have similar patches such as a particular grand piano layered with other sounds.

E.G piano plus strings

piano plus bass split

piano only

piano plus voices

I also assume that in layered patches like piano bass split and strings that some plugins may be getting loaded a few times

SO I was hopeing for some advice on the most efficient way to set up a concert and even the patches with a concert.

What do people do to lessen the load on the system and make things more efficient

I'm not sure which is better, BUT I rarely have problems with RAM. I'm usually using about ~750MB out of the 2GB I have available.

I have a separate channel strip for each instrument, changing when necessary, but I'm pretty sure Mainstage doesn't "Double Load" samples, in that if you have 3 instances of the Piano, you won't use 3x as much Ram as one instance.

basically i keep it very, very simple. all to keep cpu and ram usage low.

i know understand it's probably overkill or just plain hard core but i:

* create exs instruments for all au synths or whole channel strips. that is, fx printed on the sampler files.

* use only one channel strip for my guitar amp. the rest is aliased from that one. for individual fx i keep a channel strip with the pedalboard plugin.

every song has it's tempo set so delays change on the fly.

* mostly i also take away all notes i'n not using for the live part. meaning, a full blown piano might take 200-300mb or much more ram.

if i only play three chords, then why not cut out the extra weight. this means my three chord piano now takes more 5-15 megs instead.

this makes for stiff set.. but very cpu/ram friendly.