Your hints and tips for full and lush strings

Hi all

Just started a new project recreating an mp3 backing track for an opera piece and this is my first time arranging strings. I am only using the virtual instruments in logic and have no other plug ins for this.

I was merely wondering if any of you guys or gals had any hints, tips and tricks for getting a really full sounding string section - and of course - if you wouldn;t mind sharing with me :)

Thanks a lot!!

x

If you're going for realism, the first thing is to learn how to arrange for strings, not how to get a sound. The sound comes from learning how to arrange for strings, including the way the chords are voiced and the number of players in each section.

"Lush" can take on many many meanings. You can get "lush" from a quartet as well as a huge ensemble. So you're going to have to define "lush", but defining it has to do with what you're writing.

If you don't care about realism but just want a big, fat, sound, consider combining (say) Logic's stock orchestral strings with a synth pad. Balance the two to taste. Lengthen the release time for each so that you get a little bit of overlap or ring-out as you move from note to note or chord to chord. Then you can play whatever you think sounds good.

A little amount of reverb can go a long way. Find a really nice room setting with Space Designer and assign it to a bus. Processing your instruments with the same reverb will make them sound like they are all being played in the same environment. With realistic orchestral strings, I tend to use a fairly short reverb tail. Add too much and it can start to get a little muddy and any low frequencies will add up quickly. That's another thing to keep in mind; Keep an EQ handy to remove any unnecessary low frequencies before processing with reverb. I very rarely use any compression on realistic strings, but there are times when I will use a little to color the sound to my liking. Good luck.

- xpander