Connecting MicroKorg to Logic/MacBook

Brown Fox

Hello all, can someone expain me how to get an external Keyboard hooked up with my Laptop to play logic samples + software synths? I have a MicroKorg synth which i connected with a midicable to my M-Audio 2x2 interface, this goes via USB to my MacBook. I installed all the drivers too. Now I've tried to open some software synths in the global mixer and created a note-bar in the arrange window. When i doubleclick this window I'm able to trigger sounds on the virtual (small vertical) keyboard, but nothing happens if I press the keys of my Korg. What am i doing wrong? Do I have to configurate something? Or any settings I'm not aware of? Thanks for your help! I'm new to all this :roll:

Thanks,

Jessica

You should not have to configure anything. The only thing to do is to make sue the Instrument track on which you've inserted your virtual instrument plug-in is rec-armed (Red R button) in the Arrange window.

You can open a Transport window to troubleshoot: it features a little MIDI Monitor on the right, which should show you MIDI events when you hit a key on the Korg.

Hmm, still nothing happening. I can not see any response in The Transport window either. What about this Midi control panel in the System folder? Do I have to setup my M-Audio interface or Microkorg there somehow? I seem to have connected everyhing correct so I really don't know what to do anymore... Maybe some wrong settings on Microkorg? Switch is on Midi, Channel selected: 1.

Thanks for help!