M-Audio 410 or MOTU 828 with new iMac

Hello there; I'm relatively new to this so please bear with me!

I've just bought a new iMac and thought I could hook up either my (fairly old) MOTU 828 or even my more portable (but even older) M-Audio 410 for audio recording. However, I didn't realise that new iMacs don't have Firewire inputs.

I bought a Thunderbolt to Firewire adapter from the Apple shop in order to transfer data speedily from my previous MacBook Pro to the new iMac, and have ordered a 400 to 800 Firewire cable to connect up to the adaptor, which I was told would do that particular task the most efficiently.

However, can anyone suggest how I best proceed from here with regard to achieving efficient and good quality audio input? Can I use the above mentioned connector/cable to input audio via Thunderbolt, or do I need to buy a new audio interface? Perhaps there's a new Thunderbolt friendly audio interface out there and that might be the way to go, I'm just not sure!

Ean

I used an 828 via the TB to FW adaptor without issue here a few weeks ago as a test for a client's setup...

I actually put it at the end of a FW HD chain....

iMac -> TB to FW Adapter -> FW880 HD -> FW800 HD -> FW400 828

...and it all ran quite smoothly.... during an 8 hour recording session... while streaming several LASS combi's via Kontakt from the FW800 HDs... and not a single glitch or hiccup..

I probably wouldn't trust M-Audio stuff to do the same however.. I have always found their drivers to be temperamental, to say the least, under the best circumstances... let alone as part of a chain.

One tip however, when using the TB to FW adaptor for audio...

Under Energy Settings in OS X's System Preferences....

Make sure both Display Sleep and Computer Sleep are set to NEVER.... when working with Audio.

and..

"Put Hard Drives to Sleep whenever possible" is UNCHECKED...