Is the Motu Traveler a happening interface?

Bleh.. I have an 828MkII and I hate it. I wouldn't go with MOTU if I were you. I've had all kinds of qwerky driver issues. I want to get rid of my 828 as soon as I can afford to.

The Fireface is a great interface but the Pre's in it kind of blow. If your on a budget and want something hot, check out the new Firestudio from Presonus. It has 8 discreet class A mic Pre's and it has a super low jitter spec.

(The lowest on the market right now, at 20 Pico seconds. The MX002 has like a 600 pico second jitter spec.)

Depends on your needs and also how many inputs at the same time you'll need. I'm using the MOTU Ultralite after 2 years with the M-Audio 410 and the MOTU has waaaayyyy better drivers and its mic pres are very clean. Its size is also very convenient.
Ide go for 196k period

I have no experience with that particular MOTU piece but I've used a MOTU 828MKII for two years and it is ROCK SOLID. Ok, for $2K I am told that I could get better sound from an Apogee system but there comes a point where you have to know your limits. The only thing I can say negative about my MOTU piece is that it seems to generate a lot of RF interference which is only an issue if I'm tracking an electric bass or guitar near it.

I once used a 2408 MK2 and I was pretty decent but all my equipment has beeen sold since then. Four years later after a horrid divorce I'm now starting from scratch again. I'm just trying figure out what's going on in the recording world these days. You're input helps a great deal.

jaz

The Fireface is a great interface but the Pre's in it kind of blow

i totally disagree. i think that the presonus pre's blow. this is from total experience.

i think that the presonus gear is lower end than motu. i do not think you will get the mileage from them as you will motu.