Midi Guitar Strumming in Logic

Ascarpo

I'm wondering if there is a way to play guitar chords (strumming) with midi guitar in logic. I've tried using the scripter "guitar strummer", but it's been very difficult for me to make upstrokes effectively. I've seen others post online about using the arpeggiator and chord trigger, but I haven't had much luck with them either. I know I could manually write in the strumming pattern in midi notes, but I'm not too experienced with playing guitar so it'd be challenging for me to do so. If this is the only way to effectively do it, I'd appreciate any advice for writing them in and figuring out which notes to write in!

The strumming pattern I'm trying to make is very basic (just a simple downstroke downstroke upstroke basically looped throughout the song with different chords). If anyone has any recommendations please let me know!

You could start by using Q-Flam in the Region Inspector to spread out the notes so they play one after the other as in a real picking pattern (positive values for downstrokes, negative values for upstrokes):

guitar-midi.gif.043d7cf6b8ddcbaacd91a1d372d093ad.gif

Then make sure you introduce some velocity variations. The first note in a stroke is typically much stronger than the others, so the lower note for an upstroke, and the upper note for an upstroke, often have the highest velocity.

Thank you. I'll definitely start there.

Is there a way where if I wanted to play an F chord, all of those notes would automatically be put in the midi piano roll just by pressing an "F" on the keyboard? Or will I need to manually enter each note that makes up each chord?