Jump to content

Logic Pro randomly changes instruments, shifted everything


ThomasCheung
 Share

Recommended Posts

I was working on a really nice track today, As you've said in many other times "don't open multiple project files". This time I only had one project file running, but when I went downstairs to get a drink I came back to my project file acting weirdly. e.g logic pros stock drummer track was playing as my bass guitar which is weird as it was showing audio on the region yet the bass guitar would still play. 

I use the newest logic pro update, with the newest MacOS

It's as if my whole project file has been shifted, I also did not use the "]" command either.

This is really bugging me off, I love logic pro, but I find that it's full of so many bugs and im not sure whether I should either switch to another DAW or get an older version.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

4 hours ago, ThomasCheung said:

I use the newest logic pro update, with the newest MacOS

Being more specific is preferable especially when troubleshooting or trying to solve an issue. Within few days one could guess but in a few weeks things could change and render the post and its replies misleading...

What you describe looks like a project corruption or a prank. Do you have cat(s) at home?

LogicPro 10.7.4, MainStage 3.6,
MBPro 17", Core2Duo, 8G, OSX 10.12.6, MacPro, Xeon 6Cores, 64GB, OSX 10.16.1,
ULN8, MOTU MIDI TP-AV, C4, MCU Pro, KorgNano, Novation SLMkII, Several vintage gear
AAS, NI, Celemony, Spectrasonics, Korg, Arturia, etc..., PC, iPadPro 5th gen 12.9”(Duet D., V-Control & LogicRemote), AtariST(Notator SL),

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Hi Atlas,

 

I wouldn’t say it’s a prank, I would say the whole project is corrupted.
For example a VST channel has now turned into my reverb bus although the positioning of the regions stay the same the instruments and routing of busses has all been switched around.

 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Do you remember if you used Undo shortly before that happened? I remember some posts in this forum where  a similar thing happened after Undo. Unfortunately I also remember there was no way to repair those projects…

MacBook Pro 16'' 2019, 2,4 GHz 8-Core Intel Core i9 64 GB 2667 MHz DDR4 / macOS Monterey 12.4 / Logic 10.7.4

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Hi Polanoid,

 

No I don't recall using Undo. This is such a shame because there's been no found solution and I'm scared that Logic Pro will do this again in the future. 

Is there a way to prevent it? Should I get an older version of Logic Pro?

Thank you

Link to comment
Share on other sites

42 minutes ago, ThomasCheung said:

Is there a way to prevent it? Should I get an older version of Logic Pro?

You need to figure out what triggers it and avoid doing that. I've personally experienced that only with multiple projects opened simultaneously, and since I've religiously stayed away from doing that I've never experienced it again. 

I know that other actions have been reported to trigger that kind of behavior as well (see this in case that helps you figure out which actions may have triggered it in your situation) but I haven't personally experienced this. 

 

  • Like 1

My new Logic Pro Book is out!

Link to comment
Share on other sites

52 minutes ago, ThomasCheung said:

I'm scared that Logic Pro will do this again in the future. 

 

Logic certainly doesn’t do something like that without any user interaction, so it would be good to find out which of your actions caused this

MacBook Pro 16'' 2019, 2,4 GHz 8-Core Intel Core i9 64 GB 2667 MHz DDR4 / macOS Monterey 12.4 / Logic 10.7.4

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Thanks both,

Yes the routing of everything has changed, but the regions have stayed the same.

It's hard to find the cause because I left my computer for 15 minutes to have some food and then when I came back the logic drummer was playing weirdly, then I realised it was somehow playing bass midi notes even though the drummer track is audio.

My electric bass vst went from roland to kontakt (my electric guitar vst) and the bus strips of that kontakt guitar followed onto the electric bass track. This muddled everything up

Link to comment
Share on other sites

After saving out a copy to a new project file of the last state of the project, can you revert to a previously saved backup version? You might at least be able to recover most of the work, and rebuild anything extra from the last corrupted version...

These kind of corruption or data loss problems are awful, but like David, I've never experienced it thankfully enough...

mu:zines | music magazine archive | difficultAudio | Legacy Logic Project Conversion | Logic 10.7.4, MBP 16" M1pro

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Hi des99,

Unfortunately I only saved the project at the beginning meaning when I tried to revert to an earlier version it would take me to the barebones of this project.

Even when importing project, the tracks are still somewhat corrupted.

I was hoping there's a way to check through my finder autosaved versions of that project still stored as it only shows the versions I've saved, but surely there's a way to find all the history of logic projects in finder which are autosaved?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

18 minutes ago, ThomasCheung said:

I was hoping there's a way to check through my finder autosaved versions of that project still stored as it only shows the versions I've saved, but surely there's a way to find all the history of logic projects in finder which are autosaved?

Logic doesn’t keep any autosaved versions. The autosave data will be deleted every time you do a regular save or quit Logic without saving 

MacBook Pro 16'' 2019, 2,4 GHz 8-Core Intel Core i9 64 GB 2667 MHz DDR4 / macOS Monterey 12.4 / Logic 10.7.4

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

 Share

×
×
  • Create New...