Mapping midi which mode /arturia mk2 88 key

On the arturia mk 2 88 there’s 3 hardware buttons . “Analog lab” (controls many arturia plugins nicely  ,” DAW “(I have set to logic ...works good for basic function of logic but I sure would like to control more midi  functions in logic than what arturia already has mapped like  eq cut ....setting tempo etc etc ) and last there’s the USER button .

im new to assigning midi but understand the very basics.

not sure what mode on the arturia mk 2 I should be in to control/map more midi functions in logic with the arturia . I don’t want to overwrite arturia daw button with logic 

which mode? /which 3 of the buttons would I push to make my own maps from scratch ? . User ?Thank you

1.analog lab 

2 daw

3 user 

You’d think...I’m not sure though as “daw” /logic mode would mean logic ? Weird. This kinda stuff makes me feel pretty dumb . I have little experience with midi programming at all. I’ve assigned a button on a different controller to perform an action in the past but nothing too involved . I would like to know the mode to be in so not to overwrite what’s there on the arturia daw/logic mode

Edited by NoPro

It means it controls basic stuff of Logic, using volumes/pans of 8 channels, that's pretty much all the manufacturers of these dumb MIDI controllers set up for you. If you want anything else, or slightly more custom behaviour, you have to set it up yourself - remember though that dumb MIDI controllers are limited in how much functionality you can easily implement.

There are many threads on mapping controllers on the forum already if you want to search around, which will help give you an idea of the possibilities and approaches people use.

• Like 1

13 minutes ago, NoPro said:

but this “should” be pick what functions you use most and map it

Not if it's a dumb MIDI controller.