Most efficient way to use different MIDI controllers for Same MainStage concert (MainStage Rig w back-lined keyboards on tour)

rev32

Good day. If this topic was addressed elsewhere on this forum I couldn't find it, if so, any help directing me to the proper post would be great. 

Here's the situation. I have my master MainStage concert, I'll be on tour in Europe and am at the mercy of the backline companies as to which keyboard controllers will be available to me. I've been using, when possible two (2) Yamaha Montage 88's. There is always the chance of the backline company providing anything from Motif XF, XS, ES or Nord Stages on a nightly basis. Now for the most basic controls, what I would normally do is when I arrive at soundcheck, open my MainStage concert in Layout mode and re-assign the two keyboards, mod & pitch wheel, sustain & expression pedals straight away. Does anyone have a more efficient way to deal with this scenario? I'm also aware that I could setup layouts for the various backlined keyboard controller scenarios and save these as layouts and import them on a nightly basis based on what keyboards I was going to have to use on a given night. Just wondering if any live/touring keyboardists might have a more efficient way of handling this scenario. Thanks in advance. 

With rented gear, you never really know in advance what you’ll get, one day you may end up with something crippled which will require unforeseen adaptation. Thus it becomes unrealistic and likely waste of time preparing in advance all the possible scenarios. And that, without accounting for the possibility to end up with corrupted concert file by multiplying their versions (statistically speaking).

IMHO, there is no workaround, you would have to take the time to setup your gig before hand and I would consider planning back up…