System Overload on 2012 Mac Mini - fixes? upgrades?

Brian Liberté
Go to solution Solved by redgreenblue,

Hi Logic Pro experts!
I own a Mac Mini Late 2012 with 2.5 GHz intel i5 CPU, 500 GB Serial ATA HD, and 4 GB of RAM. I run Logic version 10.4. These specs are outdated - don't tell me - and I am considering upgrading my RAM and/or internal drive in order to see the dreaded system overload messages less often. I'll try to give as much info as possible but be concise.
I am not a professional who needs the cutting edge. Music is something I just do for fun. 10-20 virtual instrument tracks in a project is my average I but would like to be able to expand that.
I often run EXS24 and Kontakt 5. I use mostly old sample libraries from 2010. The average size of instruments is 50mb or less, which I reduce further by purging unused samples, but occasionally I want to load an instrument that's a few hundred mb.
The other day I tried freezing everything on a project with with about 20 tracks, and on that occasion freezing made it even worse. The HD meter spiked all the way up before I could get 10 seconds into the song.
Does anyone suggest anything I can do to further troubleshoot, and do you know how I can choose RAM or an SSD that will be compatible with my old Mac Mini?
If I am going to buy new RAM or an SSD, I am afraid I might accidentally buy the wrong kind, or I may overlook some more obvious solutions that would already improve my Logic's performance without an upgrade.

• Solution

you can go to crucial.com and look at the available upgrades specifically for your computer. As you can imagine none of us would recommend spending more than just a little money upgrading this computer, it's 11 years old, you've gotten your $$$ worth. Crucial is a reputable company, I've used their RAM and SSDs. 

• Like 2

Just on the freezing/playback thing - adjusting the playback buffer size to "large" should help with this.