Panning guitars to center is increasing volume

StevenMorton

Hi,

I'm trying to pan my guitars further to the center at particular parts of a song, but the volume is increasing when I do it. 

I can see the problem. When the guitars are panned far left and right, there is just one little bar showing as it plays, but when I pan them closer to the middle two little bars appear. I think it maybe has something to do with stereo but I'm a novice so need some help. 

When I right click on the track to check for panning it has the following options - Stereo Pan, Balance, Binaural Panner. 

I'll add a photo that shows what I mean. 

Thanks. 🙂

Screen Shot 2024-02-02 at 2.56.26 PM.png

Edited by StevenMorton

5 hours ago, StevenMorton said:

I'm trying to pan my guitars further to the center at particular parts of a song, but the volume is increasing when I do it. 

This is normal behavior with some pan laws such as 0 dB, you may want to try -3 dB Compensated instead. That setting is under File > Project Settings > Audio. 

That's not it. 

When I copy and paste the guitar part to a new track, it works properly. It's a single bar that plays when I play the track. But for some reason the existing guitar track has two bars when it plays. 

Also, another guitar track has no noise at all when I pan it to the right. It's only audible when it's on the left side. 

I think it has something to do with the track stack. It changes them from mono to stereo or something like that. 

Edited by StevenMorton

1 hour ago, StevenMorton said:

When I copy and paste the guitar part to a new track, it works properly. It's a single bar that plays when I play the track. But for some reason the existing guitar track has two bars when it plays. 

When you copy/paste to the new track is the target channel/track mono - and/or routed directly to an output?
I note the track selected in the image is routed to a stereo bus.

The new tracks are not sent to any bus.