A music producer's process advice.

Liv

Hello,

Just looking to chat with other producers of Logic Pro on advice for someone recording, producing, mixing. Damn its hard learning how to do it right (obviously) a lot of trial and error. I'm self taught and while I have definitely improved a lot since I first started I still can't seem to get a great, well balanced mix. They always seem to come out very off balanced, hollow, nothing really sitting well together. My vocals keep sounding really amateur in the mix I can never seem to add warmth and colour to them. I know this is a MASSIVE topic to get into, I guess I've never had a conversation with other producers before and I would love to get some advice and insight to your general process from start to finish? Which I know is subjective too and very personal but I would love to hear how other people generally approach it? Some context - I am a singer songwriter, so all the music I make is played and sang by myself. My style of music/ or what I'm going for at least is quite full, cinematic pop-esque. A lot of vocal harmonies and strings etc.  

- best volume set up for mic recordings of vocals?

-volumes in particular (general rule for getting all your gain correct for each track. How to approach it?)

-What to keep in mind when EQ'ing each track? (I try so much trial and error with this and my whole mix is always off balance and sort of hollow, I always target the high pass in the EQ to get rid of background noise or anything too boomy in that muddy frequency, I don't know if taking it off everything is making my mix sound hollow?).

- Some advice on mixing your vocals, main vocals and backing vocals? To get from a recording that's very raw to something rich and professional. 

-How to avoid muddiness?

-How to get each track sounding so clean together?

I suppose these first questions are what come to mind. Excuse me if I have gotten any vocabulary wrong.