How to be a singer while hating your voice.

Sorry, this is not a how-to. It's a question.

Basically, I'm the the position of not liking the sound of my voice, and not really being able to sing all that well, but for some reason, wanting to put vocals in my music (I've been doing instrumental for about 8 years now... I need a change). I have no experience writing lyrics either.

I look at a song like TMBG's 'I'm Impressed', and firmly believe that I can do something like that, vocal-wise. It's nothing really difficult, it's pretty basic, and it's in my range.

What it comes down to is that I'm terrified to even *begin* singing. Anyone else been in the same boat? How did you get out, or did you?

If you think your voice isn't up to par yet, just tell yourself that there's plenty of successful awful singers out there and that never stopped them, so if they can be successful while sounding awful do it, why not you? :)

It's such a subjective thing anyway. A hundred people can tell you your voice sucks and a hundred will think you're the greatest vocalist on the planet. Also, I think most singers don't like the sound of their own voice; you're always your own worst critic.

I don't think you should settle for the first notes that come out of yer mouth though either; always try to improve, but don't get discourage by critics. Case in point, I think that singer on that TMBG song doesn't sound all that good, but he's obviously successful. Just goes to show ya! I know when I started, I sounded REALLY bad. Now, years later, I sound...less bad!

Many years ago an A&R rep for Polygram told me and my band that the most important thing is to try and develop your own unique sound. He said I sounded exactly like so and so, and he was right.

Depending on the style you do, breathing technique has a lot to do with how accurate you are in hitting proper pitches (if that's what you want to do; some people's style is to NOT hit the pitches accurately!)