Recording Guitar

I am new to using Logic. Only been using it for about 2 months. And I love it.

I wanted to see how most of you handle recording guitar. Or any other mono insturment for that matter.

When I was using DP in the past. I always recorded the guitar to a stereo track. On DP you have the option to take a mono signal and place it in a stereo track. When I do this in Logic. And I chose a stero track. It will still be panned to the left or right. I have better luck tracking to a mono track. But, I want to know what you all do.

I'm not too sure what you mean about DP, don't have much experience with it. But in Logic, you definitely want to record a mono signal (such as an electric guitar) on a mono track. Otherwise you'd be recording only on one side of a stereo signal, and your guitar would be panned to that side (plus you'd be wasting half of a stereo audio file writing a bunch of zeros to your hard drive).

I think it depends on what and how you record. Personally my guitar goes into the MOTU Sound/MIDI interface and the processing is either done through a Line6 Pod (making it stereo) or in Logic with Native Instruments Guitar Rig (again resulting in stereo). Acoustics either go through TC Electronic G-Natural or once again Guitar Rig. I use Guitar Rig if I am not too sure about what sound I want, but in the end I always use stereo channels for guitars.

i track the guitar 4 times or more rather then recording it stereo, it gives much more space that way.

oh , and always on mono tracks. i actually record EVERYTHING on mono tracks. i see stereo recordings as DUAL MONO, stereo being the case of 2 monos being panned hard to the sides.

even if i have a stereo keyboard, i create 2 mono tracks and record 2xmono.

it just makes more sense...

So when you want to apply an effect you either have to:

- put the same effect on two channels

or

- bus the two out to a group, then put the effect on the group.

Seems like more work to me....