I'm Deciding Between Logic and DP

Hi, everyone--I've been lurking for a while now, as I've been in a process over the last month of deciding which program I'm going to end up with. I've appreciated the help I've soaked up.

I'd like to empty my head--I just came from a great Logic/Ensemble clinic tonight--before it explodes. ;) I'd really love to hear from anyone, but especially those who have used both programs (Logic and DP).

I'm a composer, mostly jazz, and a player. I've done some midi work but always using a hardware sequencer. Right as the art of sequencing was evolving in the '90s, I focused on my playing and the midi stuff went by the wayside. I did my recording on a Roland VS2480, on which I can pretty much fly.

And then--I got the chance to score an indie film a couple of years ago. If it wasn't so painful, it would have been funny--I sat there with a VHS remote in one hand and a stopwatch in the other, timing scenes and the composing and recording cues to fit. It actually worked until the director began a 9 month process of recutting the

'finished' film, which required me to do an enormous amount of re-recording, re-synching, and re-thinking the meaning of life.

Now I have another indie flick coming up at the end of the year, and I've decided it's time to get over my technodweeb phobia about making music with computers. About a month ago, I started spending time in studios owned by great guys who do everything from scoring film and TV to recording and mixing jazz albums to doing remixes. I did spend time with DP users, but it was at the start of my learning curve and I didn't get as much out of the visits as I have with Logic users for that reason. I am reading books about recording on DAWs and haunting LogicProHelp.com and Unicornation and a few other sites.

I guess I should list my system requirements quickly here:

It's got to be portable (I'll be going between San Diego and a home in central Mexico quite a bit, so this is key);