Really having trouble with errors/processing

troymess

Hello everyone,

I've been referring to this board since 2007 or 2008 and have really appreciated the help. I'm running an old March 2007 iMac with a dual-core processor and 4gb of RAM. I've been using Logic on it for quite some time. With a recent project, I've really been enjoying some of the Waves CLA plugs but they unfortunately take a LOT of memory and processing to work.

Because of the high demand, I've been getting two errors very consistently: Hard disk is too slow and then an error concerning the audio core processing. It makes sense as I only have two cores and it's becoming impossible to keep up with the high demands of this project.

I've already frozen all the tracks and close every other program on my computer except for Logic to give Logic the most it can have. I'm posting here to see if anyone else has any advice? It's getting very frustrating trying to mix and it stops playing every five seconds or so. Help!

Have you tried the following:

Create an empty audio track.

Set its input to none.

Do not instanciate anything on it.

Select it when on play back or when recording.

Also:

Use 64bit plugins, if not possible, try running Logic in 32bit mode.

Have you checked these: http://support.apple.com/kb/TS3834

and/or: http://www.logicprohelp.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=91490&hilit=Cpu+Overload

Thanks so much for the feedback. I'll be trying everything you mentioned tonight and tomorrow as there are a lot of resources to try and dig through. I didn't realize how much of a trade off it is when freezing tracks between the CPU load and the HD load. My HD is a 7200rpm Hitachi, so I don't think switching over to a 7200rpm Firewire800 will help with the HD issue, will it?