Using Novation UltraNova as midi controller in Logic Pro

basshead247

Let me first by introducing myself. My name is Mike. I love electronic music...primarily drum and bass. I'm a civil engineer by trade, but have been learning logic inside and out over the last year. I am self taught...but I'm fairly proficient with the program and the software instruments. Up until last week my only hardware instrument was an Akai MPK25. I now have a Novation Ultranova (bought for $150 from a friend who needed money) and a Slim Phatty (bought barely used on Ebay for $600). This website has been of great help (my 1 source). I also highly recommend "Using Logic Pro's Synthesizer's" by Kevin Anker and "Apple Pro Training Series: Logic Pro 9" by David Nahmani. These three sources are all I've needed. Long story short...thanks for your help. Now my question:

I was hoping to use the Novation Ultranova to replace my akai controller and by a midi controller in logic. All that I want is for the keys to play and trigger the software synths. I don't care about controlling the Logic software synths using the 8 knobs at the top of the ultranova.

I have spent 5 hours trying to figure this out, and now I am finally posting. I have downloaded the latest version of Automap (version 4.4). I use Logic Pro 9 as my DAW. I setup Automap with Logic Pro and went through the procedures that were directed. Automap (under Software Setup) indicates that "Logic Pro is detected". Also, in Automap, under "software setup" it indicates that Logic Pro Audio Units are all enabled. When I open up a Logic Software Synth (i.e., the ES M Synth) and Automap I can turn the knobs on the digital synth with my mouse and the movements show up in Automap and the value shows up on the LCD screen of the Ultranova. I have the "Automap" bottom on the Ultranova selected (it is lit up).