A technical support community for Apple Logic Pro users.

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 19
 
User avatar
JamesK
Posts: 660
Joined: Tue May 17, 2011 12:45 am

Re: New Logic update 10.4.5 is here!

Thu Jun 13, 2019 11:50 am

xchrisxtopher wrote:
Something that is pretty freaking sweet is that we can now Shift-click a Send, and Logic will find and highlight the corresponding Aux Channel 3 times!

Shift Click Send.gif


This is great!!!!!
27in iMac i5 2011
High Sierra
16 gig ram
UR28M audio interface
Logic Pro X 10.4.8
Cubase 10
 
User avatar
jonparadise
Posts: 212
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2006 4:34 am
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: New Logic update 10.4.5 is here!

Thu Jun 13, 2019 11:50 am

Updated and all good here. A much more responsive UI and what appears to be a great implementation of ‘disable tracks’.
www.jonathanwrightmusic.com

Logic Pro X 10.6.0 - macOS Catalina 10.15.7 - 3.5GHz Quad-core Intel Core i7 - 32GB RAM
 
nightjar
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Mar 16, 2018 5:16 am

Re: New Logic update 10.4.5 is here!

Thu Jun 13, 2019 11:53 am

Killer feature for me is Dynamic Plugin Loading!

Have a session with lots of frozen VI tracks?

It will open MUCH, MUCH, MUCH, MUCH faster!

Fantastic.. thanks Apple!
 
chucknkd
Posts: 43
Joined: Sat Apr 25, 2009 8:51 am

Re: New Logic update 10.4.5 is here!

Thu Jun 13, 2019 12:02 pm

jonparadise wrote:
Updated and all good here. A much more responsive UI and what appears to be a great implementation of ‘disable tracks’.

they have finally updated us BACK to one of the great features of Logic Pro 9
MBP 16, 8 core 2.4, 64gb ram, OS 10.15.4, UA Apollo FW w Burl Bomber ADC, Apollo Twin MK2 Quad, Logic 10.4.8
 
User avatar
kerochan
Posts: 1559
Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2017 1:52 am
Location: London UK

Re: New Logic update 10.4.5 is here!

Thu Jun 13, 2019 12:03 pm

nightjar wrote:
Killer feature for me is Dynamic Plugin Loading!

Have a session with lots of frozen VI tracks?

It will open MUCH, MUCH, MUCH, MUCH faster!

Fantastic.. thanks Apple!


Excellent, what is Dynamic Plugin Loading?
Apple Certified Pro - Logic Pro X 10.3.
Logic Pro X 10.3.2 El Capitan. 10.11.3
Macbook Pro mid 2015 15" 2.8 Quad core i7 16GBRAM,
Thunderbolt 27 display.
UA Apollo 8 QUAD audio interface and satellite TB Quad & Apollo Twin Duo.
Genelec 8040 monitors + Avantone Mixcube
Macbook Air (for traveling) i7 2 core, 8gb RAM.
 
User avatar
xchrisxtopher
Posts: 178
Joined: Sat Aug 17, 2013 7:41 am

Re: New Logic update 10.4.5 is here!

Thu Jun 13, 2019 12:05 pm

kerochan wrote:
nightjar wrote:
Killer feature for me is Dynamic Plugin Loading!

Have a session with lots of frozen VI tracks?

It will open MUCH, MUCH, MUCH, MUCH faster!

Fantastic.. thanks Apple!


Excellent, what is Dynamic Plugin Loading?


Optimized Project Loading:

https://www.pro-tools-expert.com/logic-pro-expert/2019/6/13/logic-pro-x-1045-looks-like-a-routine-minor-update-but-contains-a-new-feature-that-changes-everything
http://chrisvandeviver.com

Logic Pro 10.6.1

iMac (21.5 inch, Late 2015)
macOS Catalina 10.15.7
2.8 GHz Intel i5
8 GB 1867 MHz DDR3

Logic Pro 10.6.1

Macbook Pro (13-inch, Mid 2012)
Mac OS Catalina 10.15.7
2.5 GHz Intel i5
8GB 1600 MHz DD3R

Apogee Ensemble | Apogee Element 24
 
nightjar
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Mar 16, 2018 5:16 am

Re: New Logic update 10.4.5 is here!

Thu Jun 13, 2019 12:09 pm

About dynamic plug-in loading in Logic Pro X
Logic Pro X 10.4.5 only loads the plug-ins and software instruments needed to play the project, which helps projects open faster.

Dynamic plug-in loading helps projects with a lot of plug-ins and software instruments open faster. When you open a project, Logic analyzes the project and makes only the tracks needed for playback active. Here are the types of tracks Logic makes active when you open a project:
Audio tracks that have audio regions (not including frozen tracks)
Software instrument tracks that have MIDI regions (not including frozen tracks)
Tracks with input monitoring turned on
Tracks with plug-ins that generate sound without requiring any input (such as the Test Oscillator)
Tracks with external or ReWire inputs
Tracks with plug-ins and software instruments not needed for playback are inactive and dimmed in the Mixer.
When you select an inactive track, Logic loads the plug-ins on that track. Logic also loads plug-ins on an inactive track when you do things like add a region to the track, unfreeze a frozen track, or add a plug-in to an inactive track.
Manually make tracks inactive and active
You can manually make tracks inactive to save system resources. Press and hold the Option key, then click the On/Off button in the track header in the Main window. If you don't see the On/Off button in the track header, choose Track > Configure Track Header, then select On/Off.
When you make a track with audio regions inactive, you also make turn off the track’s audio regions. If you close then reopen the project, the whole track remains inactive until you manually activate it.
To manually activate a channel, click the track header On/Off button in the Main window. In the Mixer, click an empty Audio Effect slot, then choose Activate Channel.
Turn off dynamic plug-in loading
You can turn this setting off for each project:
Open your project
Choose File > Project Settings > General, then deselect "Only load plug-ins needed for project playback."
 
KikkoAndMoonman
Posts: 50
Joined: Mon Mar 10, 2014 10:02 am

Re: New Logic update 10.4.5 is here!

Thu Jun 13, 2019 12:25 pm

Can't seem to get the update prompt in App Store for some reason.

Also, will the update's section about improved multi-core support for up to 56 cores have a good effect on 12-core systems?
• Logic version and sub-version: Logic X 10.4.7
• OS X version and sub-version: Mojave 10.14.6
• Computer: Mac Pro (Early 2009) - Flashed to 5.1
• Processor: 12 core 3.46GHz Intel Xeon
• Memory: 48GB
• Audio interface manufacturer and model: Focusrite Scarlett 2i2
 
User avatar
PKGuy323
Posts: 41
Joined: Wed May 06, 2009 9:06 pm
Location: Dallas, TX
Contact:

Re: New Logic update 10.4.5 is here!

Thu Jun 13, 2019 12:38 pm

KikkoAndMoonman wrote:
Can't seem to get the update prompt in App Store for some reason.

Also, will the update's section about improved multi-core support for up to 56 cores have a good effect on 12-core systems?


Same here...on Mojave and LPX 10.4.4. I've restarted a few times but still waiting.
2017 MacBook Air, 2.2 i7, 8GB RAM, 512 SSD | MacOS 10.14.5 | Logic Pro X 10.4.4
 
rico
Posts: 21
Joined: Thu Mar 23, 2006 3:05 am

Re: New Logic update 10.4.5 is here!

Thu Jun 13, 2019 12:43 pm

KikkoAndMoonman wrote:
Can't seem to get the update prompt in App Store for some reason.

Also, will the update's section about improved multi-core support for up to 56 cores have a good effect on 12-core systems?


Go to store menu and click reload page.
 
User avatar
mrmeoff
Posts: 148
Joined: Mon Nov 07, 2005 2:12 pm
Location: Tucson, AZ

Re: New Logic update 10.4.5 is here!

Thu Jun 13, 2019 12:48 pm

rico wrote:
KikkoAndMoonman wrote:
Can't seem to get the update prompt in App Store for some reason.

Also, will the update's section about improved multi-core support for up to 56 cores have a good effect on 12-core systems?


Go to store menu and click reload page.


Thank you!
[*-*] Mr. Meoff

HackMeoff (i7-970 6core/X58a) - OSX Mojave 10.14.5 - Logic X 10.4.5
MBP 2.5 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo - OSX Mavericks 10.9.5 - Logic Pro 9.1.8
 
User avatar
jsbaker
Posts: 162
Joined: Fri Sep 28, 2007 10:56 pm
Location: Pacific Northwest
Contact:

Re: New Logic update 10.4.5 is here!

Thu Jun 13, 2019 12:48 pm

chucknkd wrote:
I know it says its fixed in the release notes, but if they ACTUALLY fixed ARA2 then this will be a great day. (also plugins now unload when you hit the track power button!)

read through the notes and there's a ton of other great updates/fixes, but this is the one I've been waiting for.


+100
Logic Pro 10.6.1, OS X 10.15.7, Late 2015 27” Retina 5K iMac, i7 4.0 GHz. 32 Gb RAM, SSD internal drive
External drives: various fast drives for projects and samples.
Apollo Twin I/O. Controllers: Expressive E Touche', Behringer X-Touch One, WX5 wind, Axiom 25. Assorted plug-ins. Some duct tape.

Latest album "Strange Tales" (created using Logic Pro X) is at https://johnplainsong.bandcamp.com.
 
User avatar
PKGuy323
Posts: 41
Joined: Wed May 06, 2009 9:06 pm
Location: Dallas, TX
Contact:

Re: New Logic update 10.4.5 is here!

Thu Jun 13, 2019 12:49 pm

rico wrote:
KikkoAndMoonman wrote:
Can't seem to get the update prompt in App Store for some reason.

Also, will the update's section about improved multi-core support for up to 56 cores have a good effect on 12-core systems?


Go to store menu and click reload page.


That did it....thank you!
2017 MacBook Air, 2.2 i7, 8GB RAM, 512 SSD | MacOS 10.14.5 | Logic Pro X 10.4.4
 
User avatar
GrabtharsHammer
Posts: 36
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 6:50 am

Re: New Logic update 10.4.5 is here!

Thu Jun 13, 2019 12:55 pm

Sorry, but I am not impressed. People are super excited about a slight improvement of their projects‘ load times?
The last 1,5 years have been pretty boring as a Logic user.
- Logic Pro X 10.4
- iMac Retina 4K 21.5" late 2015 (Intel Core i7 3,3 GHz, 16 GB RAM, 500 GB SSD)
- Presonus Quantum 2
 
User avatar
redgreenblue
Posts: 693
Joined: Wed Jan 15, 2014 6:57 am
Contact:

Re: New Logic update 10.4.5 is here!

Thu Jun 13, 2019 12:58 pm

DRC Music wrote:
"Send MIDI beat clock to individual ports, each with unique settings like timing offset and plug-in delay compensation"

Oh wow!


yeah, I've been needing this one
Logic 10.5.1
2011 iMac 12 gigs RAM (10.13.6)
2018 Mac Mini i7, 32 gigs RAM (10.14.6)
MOTU 828 MKIII Hybrid
Behringer ADA8200 x2
MOTU Midi Express x 2
A nice variety of old analog and hybrid synths
Novation stuff out the wazoo, including an SL61mk2, SL37, ZeroSLmk2
http://www.shaneking.com
http://www.redgreenblue.bandcamp.com
 
dmuckala
Posts: 76
Joined: Sun Jan 08, 2006 12:04 am

Re: New Logic update 10.4.5 is here!

Thu Jun 13, 2019 1:03 pm

xchrisxtopher wrote:


THIS. Is the update/fix I've been waiting for literally YEARS for. We finally have a proper enable/disable tracks feature. Like chucknkd said, when Logic Pro X was first released, the on/off button that I had come to rely upon in Logic 9 was basically rendered useless. But now once again you can bip an instrument track, option click on/off button and hide the old track and it won't hog resources on subsequent reloads of the project. Thankyou Apple for giving us back this pro feature.
Macbook Pro 2019
Logic Pro X 10.6.0
OSX Catalina 10.15.6
UA Apollo
UA Satellite TB2 x 2
 
User avatar
redgreenblue
Posts: 693
Joined: Wed Jan 15, 2014 6:57 am
Contact:

Re: New Logic update 10.4.5 is here!

Thu Jun 13, 2019 1:06 pm

GrabtharsHammer wrote:
Sorry, but I am not impressed. People are super excited about a slight improvement of their projects‘ load times?
The last 1,5 years have been pretty boring as a Logic user.


I'll take boring and reliable. Faster project loading times is a very good thing for some of us, my projects tend to be large and this is especially good for those of us who use Login on stage.
Logic 10.5.1
2011 iMac 12 gigs RAM (10.13.6)
2018 Mac Mini i7, 32 gigs RAM (10.14.6)
MOTU 828 MKIII Hybrid
Behringer ADA8200 x2
MOTU Midi Express x 2
A nice variety of old analog and hybrid synths
Novation stuff out the wazoo, including an SL61mk2, SL37, ZeroSLmk2
http://www.shaneking.com
http://www.redgreenblue.bandcamp.com
 
SaintFu
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Jul 10, 2011 10:04 am

Re: New Logic update 10.4.5 is here!

Thu Jun 13, 2019 1:12 pm

So I downloaded this update, and suddenly my Korg nanoKontrol 2 stopped working. I tried deleting it from the Control Surface setup and then re-adding it, but it won’t add.

I haven’t been using the Korg driver for a while because the nanoKontrol worked fine without it, and it caused stability problems when it was installed. It hasn’t been updated for a few years.

I’d love to hear from anyone with a similar experience or suggestion.
 
User avatar
redgreenblue
Posts: 693
Joined: Wed Jan 15, 2014 6:57 am
Contact:

Re: New Logic update 10.4.5 is here!

Thu Jun 13, 2019 1:14 pm

dmuckala wrote:
xchrisxtopher wrote:


THIS. Is the update/fix I've been waiting for literally YEARS for. We finally have a proper enable/disable tracks feature. Like chucknkd said, when Logic Pro X was first released, the on/off button that I had come to rely upon in Logic 9 was basically rendered useless. But now once again you can bip an instrument track, option click on/off button and hide the old track and it won't hog resources on subsequent reloads of the project. Thankyou Apple for giving us back this pro feature.


Now if they'd just give us BLACK as a color again. (yes, I know there is a workaround)
Logic 10.5.1
2011 iMac 12 gigs RAM (10.13.6)
2018 Mac Mini i7, 32 gigs RAM (10.14.6)
MOTU 828 MKIII Hybrid
Behringer ADA8200 x2
MOTU Midi Express x 2
A nice variety of old analog and hybrid synths
Novation stuff out the wazoo, including an SL61mk2, SL37, ZeroSLmk2
http://www.shaneking.com
http://www.redgreenblue.bandcamp.com
 
Christof
Posts: 30
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2017 10:59 pm
Contact:

Re: New Logic update 10.4.5 is here!

Thu Jun 13, 2019 1:15 pm

The dynamic plug-in loading feature is one of the best improvements ever.Finally I can load my big templates 100 times faster than before.
Closing a big template is also incredible fast now, same with saving a project.
This is really smart and excuses the missing features we asked for:
-Multiple video import
-Multiple midi CC lanes in the piano roll
-Multiple marker tracks.
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 19