A technical support community for Apple Logic Pro users.

  • 1
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 19
 
User avatar
anp27
Posts: 1729
Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2012 1:25 pm
Location: Brooklyn, New York

Re: New Logic update 10.4.5 is here!

Fri Jun 14, 2019 12:37 am

Attracks pilot wrote:
Where did you find black? I don't see it on my Color Pallet.


Doesn't exist in the color palette but forum member Stardust Media shared a Logic project with a black colored channel strip that you can import into your own projects. Do a search for it on this forum.
Mac mini (late 2012 Server) 2.3 Ghz i7, 16GB RAM Macbook Pro 15" (early 2011) 2.3 Ghz i7~2TB Samsung 860 QVO~16GB Ram~macOS Catalina 10.15.7~Logic Pro 10.6.1~Universal Audio Apollo Twin Duo Thunderbolt MKII~KORG microKEY2 61
 
Sascha Franck
Posts: 1026
Joined: Sun Sep 14, 2008 5:51 am
Location: Hannover/Germany

Re: New Logic update 10.4.5 is here!

Fri Jun 14, 2019 12:41 am

Gotta say that I'm majorly impressed by the "Only load plugins required for playback" feature, especially along with the option to also unload a channels plugins by option-clicking the on/off button.
I thought I might not exactly need it, but now that I've already created a test template I gotta say that I will very likely build myself a bunch of rather massive templates, especially with NIs Komplete Ultimate to arrive any day. It's absolutely amazing how even the largest templates only take seconds to load. And as soon as you also use the tracks on/off buttons, you won't accidentally activate things by scrolling through your tracks using the up/down arrows.
This is really *heaps* better than surfing through channel strip settings.
As said, I'm impressed quite a bit - and that's not something happening too often when it comes to sequencers.

And now bring the LP9 zoom back! Pretty please!
2010 MP 2x2.66GHz, 16GB, 500GB SSD System/Logic drive, Zoom UAC-2, LPX 4.2, OSX 13.6.
 
Sascha Franck
Posts: 1026
Joined: Sun Sep 14, 2008 5:51 am
Location: Hannover/Germany

Re: New Logic update 10.4.5 is here!

Fri Jun 14, 2019 1:06 am

Fwiw, as mentioned on GS and confirmed by yours truly, there seems to be a sort of major bug with freezing while "only load plugins required for playback".
When you unfreeze a track, the instrument used reverts to its default setting. In case of Kontakt, it just gave me an empty instance.
When I deactivate the new "only load required plugins" function, things are back to normal.
2010 MP 2x2.66GHz, 16GB, 500GB SSD System/Logic drive, Zoom UAC-2, LPX 4.2, OSX 13.6.
 
3saul
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2016 3:30 pm

Re: New Logic update 10.4.5 is here!

Fri Jun 14, 2019 1:09 am

SaintFu wrote:
So I downloaded this update, and suddenly my Korg nanoKontrol 2 stopped working. I tried deleting it from the Control Surface setup and then re-adding it, but it won’t add.

I haven’t been using the Korg driver for a while because the nanoKontrol worked fine without it, and it caused stability problems when it was installed. It hasn’t been updated for a few years.

I’d love to hear from anyone with a similar experience or suggestion.


Did you resolve this? I have a Korg nano but haven't upgraded to 10.4.5 yet
OSX 10.15.2
Logic 10.4.8
 
User avatar
dwood
Posts: 22
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2008 2:26 am
Location: ISS

Re: New Logic update 10.4.5 is here!

Fri Jun 14, 2019 1:26 am

Working very well so far for me! I noticed a pop/no audio thing when first hitting play w/the first project I loaded, but sure that's a problem with my ancient interface.
Logic X 10.4.7, Mac Pro 2 x 2.93 GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon, High Sierra, 64G RAM, Roland A-80, Arturia KeyLab 61 MKII, Apogee Duet FW
 
nor17
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jun 14, 2019 1:11 am

Re: New Logic update 10.4.5 is here!

Fri Jun 14, 2019 1:45 am

Nice to see Apple updates their Logic software. Logical that everyone search for their own answers to their important Logic/software questions.
It’ for me personal is a bummer that they didn’t make progress in the max 16 midichannel record to sequencer situation. Every other DAW could do that trick!
 
User avatar
David Nahmani
Site Admin
Posts: 82698
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 12:16 am
Contact:

Re: New Logic update 10.4.5 is here!

Fri Jun 14, 2019 2:35 am

nor17 wrote:
It’ for me personal is a bummer that they didn’t make progress in the max 16 midichannel record to sequencer situation. Every other DAW could do that trick!

Agreed. Hopefully this gets implemented sooner than later. Certainly a huge limitation for all those who need that functionality.
David Nahmani
• My Logic Pro X 10.5 book (Apple Pro Training Series)
Contact me for Private Lessons
Logic Pro X 10.6.1
MacBook Air 1.3 GHz i5 — MacOS X 11.0.1 — 4 GB RAM
iMac 3.2 GHz Quad Core i5 — MacOS X 10.15.4 — 8 GB RAM
 
rico
Posts: 21
Joined: Thu Mar 23, 2006 3:05 am

Re: New Logic update 10.4.5 is here!

Fri Jun 14, 2019 2:44 am

davidvilla wrote:
I finally got a bigger Performance meter by holding either shift/control/option/apple key while clicking on it on the transport lcd.


Ah, cool thanks davidvilla, good find.
 
User avatar
Ploki
Posts: 4414
Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2008 2:59 am
Location: Slovenia
Contact:

Re: New Logic update 10.4.5 is here!

Fri Jun 14, 2019 2:46 am

lagerfeldt wrote:
Sure, hang on.

Screen Shot 2019-06-13 at 23.33.00.png

DeEsser 2 parameters
Detection meter: Shows the input signal level. The maximum level is shown in the numerical display above the meter. Click to reset. Behavior of the meter changes in Absolute or Relative mode. See Mode pop-up menu description.

Detection meter slider: Drag to set the Threshold above which gain reduction is applied.

Reduction meter: Shows the amount of gain reduction applied. The maximum level is shown in the numerical display above the meter. Click to reset.

Reduction meter slider: Drag to set the Maximum Reduction level.

Threshold knob and field: Set the Threshold above which gain reduction is applied.[Holger's note: you can also grab the meter indicator, which is nice

Max Reduction knob and field: Set the amount of gain reduction applied.[Holger's note: you can also grab the meter indicator, which is nice

Frequency knob and field: Set the center frequency of the detection filter.

Mode pop-up menu: Choose Relative or Absolute mode. Relative is the default and works with low and high energy signals. [I'm surprised they went with Relative as the default, that might not be a good choice as it could result in over-de-essing/lisping in some cases and it's less predictable/controllable...]

Relative: In this mode the energy level of the band/high passed signal (determined by the Frequency and Filter settings) is compared with the full bandwidth energy level of the incoming signal. The Threshold parameter value determines the amplification of the filtered signal energy (because the energy of the filtered signal will always be lower than the full bandwidth signal). When the amplified signal is lower than the full bandwidth signal, the Detection meter shows a blue meter below the Threshold value and no processing occurs. When the amplified signal surpasses the full bandwidth level, the Detection meter shows a yellow meter above the Threshold value and processing takes place.

Absolute: The Detection level meter shows the energy of the incoming signal (band/high passed as set with the Frequency and the Filter settings). When the energy level surpasses the Threshold parameter value the meter display switches from blue (not processed) to yellow (processed). Low energy signals can only be processed in Absolute mode if the Threshold parameter is set to a very low value.

Range buttons: Set the filter frequency range. Split affects signals tightly centered around the set Frequency value. Wide affects a broader spectrum around the set Frequency value.

Filter buttons: Choose a highpass shelving or peak filter shape.

Filter Solo button: Turn on to hear the filtered signal in isolation. This is useful for setting Threshold and Frequency values.


Dang, this looks neat!
And it looks awfully familiar. :)
Just like ChromaVerb, this one seems to take a page out of FabFilter book. Since Pro-DS is my go-to desser, im eager to try it out.
<desktop pending> | 13" M1 Pro | Big Sur 11.1 | Logic 10.6.1
RME FireFace 800 / UFX+ | ROLI Seaboard RISE 25 | ROLI Blocks | nOb Control | StreamDeck
 
User avatar
David Nahmani
Site Admin
Posts: 82698
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 12:16 am
Contact:

Re: New Logic update 10.4.5 is here!

Fri Jun 14, 2019 3:00 am

A wide band shelf filter de-esser!!! Yes! And it sounds amazing! That was definitely one of the core plug-ins Logic was missing. Great addition.
David Nahmani
• My Logic Pro X 10.5 book (Apple Pro Training Series)
Contact me for Private Lessons
Logic Pro X 10.6.1
MacBook Air 1.3 GHz i5 — MacOS X 11.0.1 — 4 GB RAM
iMac 3.2 GHz Quad Core i5 — MacOS X 10.15.4 — 8 GB RAM
 
SaintFu
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Jul 10, 2011 10:04 am

Re: New Logic update 10.4.5 is here!

Fri Jun 14, 2019 3:28 am

3saul wrote:
SaintFu wrote:
So I downloaded this update, and suddenly my Korg nanoKontrol 2 stopped working. I tried deleting it from the Control Surface setup and then re-adding it, but it won’t add.

I haven’t been using the Korg driver for a while because the nanoKontrol worked fine without it, and it caused stability problems when it was installed. It hasn’t been updated for a few years.

I’d love to hear from anyone with a similar experience or suggestion.


Did you resolve this? I have a Korg nano but haven't upgraded to 10.4.5 yet


I have not. Nor have I established that it’s a common issue and not something specific to my setup. I haven’t found an account from anyone with the same problem.
 
User avatar
des99
Posts: 4944
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2015 12:08 pm

Re: New Logic update 10.4.5 is here!

Fri Jun 14, 2019 3:39 am

David Nahmani wrote:
A wide band shelf filter de-esser!!! Yes! And it sounds amazing! That was definitely one of the core plug-ins Logic was missing. Great addition.


Ye, the old de-esser was one of the poorest plugins in Logic...
Last edited by des99 on Sat Jun 15, 2019 12:53 am, edited 1 time in total.
mu:zines | music magazine archive | difficultAudio
 
nightjar
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Mar 16, 2018 5:16 am

Re: New Logic update 10.4.5 is here!

Fri Jun 14, 2019 3:52 am

Sascha Franck wrote:
Fwiw, as mentioned on GS and confirmed by yours truly, there seems to be a sort of major bug with freezing while "only load plugins required for playback".
When you unfreeze a track, the instrument used reverts to its default setting. In case of Kontakt, it just gave me an empty instance.
When I deactivate the new "only load required plugins" function, things are back to normal.


Do a save before you re-freeze your track if you've made changes to a plug-in.
 
Sascha Franck
Posts: 1026
Joined: Sun Sep 14, 2008 5:51 am
Location: Hannover/Germany

Re: New Logic update 10.4.5 is here!

Fri Jun 14, 2019 4:02 am

nightjar wrote:
Do a save before you re-freeze your track if you've made changes to a plug-in.


I usally never freeze but thanks anyway, will see whether it works.
2010 MP 2x2.66GHz, 16GB, 500GB SSD System/Logic drive, Zoom UAC-2, LPX 4.2, OSX 13.6.
 
User avatar
Attracks pilot
Posts: 225
Joined: Wed Oct 03, 2012 8:30 am
Location: Castricum, Netherlands
Contact:

Re: New Logic update 10.4.5 is here!

Fri Jun 14, 2019 4:44 am

anp27 wrote:
Attracks pilot wrote:
Where did you find black? I don't see it on my Color Pallet.


Doesn't exist in the color palette but forum member Stardust Media shared a Logic project with a black colored channel strip that you can import into your own projects. Do a search for it on this forum.


Thanks for your advice, anp27.
Although I didn't find that project. But I'll try again.
Logic Pro X 10.4.4 / 10.4.8 • Mac OS 10.13.6 • 27" iMac Quad Core 2.66 GHz / 1 TB / 8 GB • Logic Remote
http://www.attracks.net
 
xgman
Posts: 589
Joined: Thu Jul 21, 2011 11:09 am

Re: New Logic update 10.4.5 is here!

Fri Jun 14, 2019 7:05 am

dwood wrote:
Working very well so far for me! I noticed a pop/no audio thing when first hitting play w/the first project I loaded, but sure that's a problem with my ancient interface.

I've had that same thing on a new interface and in the last ver of logic too. Not sure what causes that once in a while other than in my case something to do with Komplete
{2018 27" iMac-Pro-10 core-RadeonProVega56 8gb-64gb ram-2TB int ssd+<4tb Samsung850-860evo ssd's in TB3 Akitio Enclosure> UAD Apollo x6-tb3/Yamaha2050/Amphion/Bowers&Wilkins/Komplete S61Mk2} latest OSX, latest LPX
 
uncleozzy
Posts: 53
Joined: Fri Sep 28, 2007 11:39 am

Re: New Logic update 10.4.5 is here!

Fri Jun 14, 2019 7:42 am

I usually program drums in the step editor, and I've encountered a strange behavior since installing 10.4.5: sometimes when drawing in a note with the pencil, a different note will play. Instead of playing the note I'm drawing, Logic will play a different note that's playing at the same time.

For example: I have a kick / snare pattern already drawn in, and I'm adding cymbals. I'll draw a few hi-hats, but occasionally instead of triggering the hi-hat that I'm drawing, the kick or snare that falls on the same beat will play instead.
Logic Pro X 10.4.5
OS X 10.14.5
2018 Mac Mini i7, 16GB RAM
Focusrite Clarett 8pre
 
User avatar
atomatik13
Posts: 83
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2006 6:05 pm

Re: New Logic update 10.4.5 is here!

Fri Jun 14, 2019 7:48 am

Is there anywhere to grab high sierra? Can't seem to find it, and Mojave will break a few things I need. I would really like to try this logic update, but from what I understand it's not compatible with sierra.
 
User avatar
dven
Posts: 82
Joined: Wed Apr 26, 2006 5:48 am
Location: USA

Re: New Logic update 10.4.5 is here!

Fri Jun 14, 2019 7:55 am

10.12.6, 2014 MacBook Pro Retina 2.8 i7, 16GB, LPX 10.4.1, LE 9.1.8
10.13.6, 2018 MacBook Pro 2.2 i7, 560x, 32GB, LPX 10.4.4
Focusrite Scarlett Solo, Focusrite Scarlett 2i2
EMU X-Board 49, Akai MPD 218
 
User avatar
fmaestas
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Aug 21, 2007 3:45 pm
Location: Aurora Colorado

Re: New Logic update 10.4.5 is here!

Fri Jun 14, 2019 8:13 am

Hmmm, I'm also seeing pixelated, choppy thin font in the mixer labels. Seems to be the only place so far.

MIxer Labels.png
MIxer Labels.png (18.38 KiB) Viewed 324 times
Logic 10.4.8, Studio One 5.1.2, High Sierra 10.13.6, Hackintosh 32gb, Focusrite 18i8
  • 1
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 19