Zoom to playhead instead of region? [SOLVED]

Simon R.
Go to solution Solved by David Nahmani,

I am trying to migrate to LPX from Logic 9 - I distinctly remember that zooming in/out in the arrange window in LP9 kept the focus at the playhead, regardless if you have selected one or more regions - is this not possible in LPX? Rarely I want to zoom to a region (I am sure there is already another shortcut for that), usually I want the playhead to be my centre of attention.

Thanks!

zooming in/out in the arrange window in LP9 kept the focus at the playhead, regardless if you have selected one or more regions

Unless the playhead is outside the selected region's boundaries. The behavior is the same in LP9 and LPX.

Sorry, I just checked, you are right. Don't know why I think it zoomed to the playhead in Logic 9 hmm. Oh well 8)

• 3 years later...
  • 1 year later...
Hi,

Noob here just picking up on this thread...

So reading this am I right to assume that zooming to playhead cannot be dialed in as priority over selected regions?

Depending on what you want to achieve, there is one thing that takes priority over both playhead and region. Create a "Marquee line"(clicking once with the Marquee tool without dragging) and zooming will take place around that "line" as long as it's there...

blink

So reading this am I right to assume that zooming to playhead cannot be dialed in as priority over selected regions?

If the playhead is within the boundaries of the selected region, the playhead is the priority. If the playhead is outside the selected region boundaries then the selected region is the priority.

Depending on what you want to achieve, there is one thing that takes priority over both playhead and region. Create a "Marquee line"(clicking once with the Marquee tool without dragging) and zooming will take place around that "line" as long as it's there...