the Quick Swipe Comping button doesn't appear

Lynn David Newton
Go to solution Solved by David Nahmani,

Background:
o Running Logic 10.8.1 on an M2 Mini.
o I'm very familiar with music.
o I'm fairly new to Logic and DAWs in general.
o First post to this forum.

I have all advanced features enabled.

I created a project with a single MIDI instrument track.
It has multiple takes, and I want to use Quick Swipe Comping
to merge parts of the takes.

The Quick Swipe Comping button doesn't appear in my track header.
This is the symbol that looks like a dotted pyramid: /\

Therefore, I also don't see the Take Folder pop-up menu.

I don't get the "line" icon when I move the pointer inside a track.

These features are both seen on page 278 of the latest "Logic Pro User
Guide from Mac" obtained a few days ago from the Apple website.

I do see the Comping button when I download examples where it is enabled.

Surely there is merely something stupid I've overlooked. Two hours of
trying to solve the problem myself has left me only frustrated.

Can someone suggest what I'm failing to see?

Abundant thanks in advance to anyone who attempts to help me out.

Good grief! Well, that's obviously an explanation.

The tutorial I was following didn't make that clear. (Not a criticism. It's hard to cover everything in a piece of software as complex and featureful as Logic.)

So some other editing approach is obviously required for tracks where there are multiple takes of MIDI files. I have yet to learn what that is.

Thanks very much for the instant turnaround. You've made my day.

Regrettably, this problem is not quite solved yet. Here is a variation.

I have a network of Macs in my home. My main computers are a Mac M2 Mini in my office and a MacBook Pro in my music studio. Project files are on a NAS network server, in a disk image (DMG sparseimage file) that I mount and unmount depending on where I'm working.