how to apply Pitch Correction in Different Keys by Region?

Dave K
Go to solution Solved by Dr.Socrates,

Hi foks! I'm a relative newbie to Logic, but I think I'm diving into the deep end here. 

The song has a challenging vocal section: in the bridge, 4 bars are sung in D major, 4 in D minor, and 4 in Eb minor. Naturally, it's hard to sing on pitch, and sure enough my recording needs pitch correction. But each of those 4 bars needs to be pitch-corrected in a different key.

So I have:

1. split those bars into Regions

2. enabled the Pitch-Correction plug-in to this track. 

3. enabled Region-based Automation on the track

4. set the Root and Scale and other parameters as needed

The problem I have appears to be with Automation. Whenever I go to set up the NEXT Root/Scale, the old one gets replaced. 

I have read up on Read/Touch/Latch/Write, but I'm clearly not getting it. I tried going into Touch or Write mode at the left edge of the region, setting the Root/Scale; going back to Read mode until I get to the next Region, and then repeating. But it doesn't work. I could explain all the problems and confusion I'm running into, but I'm not sure that would help. If someone could just explain to me the right way to accomplish this, it would be a huge help!

Thanks in advance!

Dave

Edited by reggoboy
typo

On 1/27/2024 at 1:10 PM, Dr.Socrates said:

Why not use Flex Pitch instead? I think you will get a better result ...

Thanks so much for the reply.

This doesn't answer my question, but it does suggest an alternative. I originally steered away from Flex Pitch because it was new to me and because Logic didn't appear to load any content there. But with some help from here:

I found the missing FP content.