Looking to begin recording - need help selecting the right computer

Hi there. I’m a classic blues musician and also do a one man band. I’m hoping to begin recording at my home. I have a decent amount of experience with Logic and Pro Tools but never dived deep. I don’t even have a computer so I’m at a loss with every option and hoping to get insight. 

I imagine a more complicated recording would have vocals, two guitars maybe three, bass, drumset, harmonica. I’m thinking I’d use amp simulation using logic and also would record a keyboard part or two (Rhodes or organ). 

im currently looking at possibly an M3 iMac with 16g of ram and 512 or 1tb of storage. I’ve had some people mention I should consider an M2 Pro because of the cores. I’m not totally sure how necessary that is because of me not using many samples and such. I also have been told the M1 Pro max might be worth considering but my issue with that is maybe not going to be supported as long?

I would also have to buy all the stuff so I would need keyboard mouse monitor. Honestly I might consider the super nice apple screen but the iMac is enticing because for around 2k I can get everything including logic. 

looking for some thoughts!

I use an M1 MB Air, 16GB RAM, 1TB SSD.

Assuming you will be running a smaller number of tracks (i.e. 32 or less…some modern pop productions use over 100) that iMac setup will be just fine.

I just recorded a demo session for a friend's blues band playing live (no overdubs) and we only used 7 tracks…2 vocals, harp, bass, guitar and 2 mikes on the drums. About 105 minutes of music total at 44.1/24 took up less than 6GB. Even with more guitars and using more than two mikes on drums, you’d still be looking at only needing 16 tracks.
ScreenShot2024-02-17at7_47_00AM.thumb.png.0e1602057f62dfd5996999c2bdb1c93b.png