A technical support community for Apple Logic Pro users.

  • 1
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
 
elik
Posts: 265
Joined: Wed May 30, 2007 1:41 pm
Location: Montreal, Quebec; Canada
Contact:

Re: Logic Pro X general information & tips

Tue Jul 30, 2013 6:05 pm

Just noticed a nice little Easter Egg. When you use QuickLook to view a Project in the Finder that contains Project Alternatives, you can select between which of the Alternatives you want to view. Very nice!


Eli Krantzberg
 
User avatar
David Nahmani
Site Admin
Topic Author
Posts: 64411
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 12:16 am
Location: Valley Village, CA
Contact:

Re: Logic Pro X general information & tips

Wed Jul 31, 2013 8:33 am

elik wrote:
Sorry for the delay. Just checked it out. I disconnected my wired extended keyboard. Then quit and restarted Logic with the wireless non extended keyboard connected. And I didn't notice a single difference with the key commands. It was the exact same set. With the ensuing restrictions due to the limits of the keyboard (ex: go to beginning or selection is control + home. Impossible on a regular keyboard!).

Ah ok interesting! So they have basically assigned the less used commands to the numeric and center keypads I guess... makes sense. thanks Eli! :D
David Nahmani
• My Logic Pro X 10.3 book (Apple Pro Training Series)
Contact me for Private Lessons
Logic Pro X 10.3.2 - Mac OS X 10.12.3 - MacBook Air 1.3 GHz i5 - 4GB RAM
 
User avatar
Eric Cardenas
Moderator
Posts: 21466
Joined: Sat May 07, 2005 1:47 pm
Location: Uppsala, Sweden
Contact:

Re: Logic Pro X general information & tips

Wed Jul 31, 2013 11:35 am

elik wrote:
ex: go to beginning or selection is control + home. Impossible on a regular keyboard!


Pretty easy.
Try Control-fn-left arrow.
Eric Bradley Cardenas
EC Making Sound
Mac mini 2.6 GHz 16GB RAM Areca⚡RAID | MacBook Pro 2.3 GHz 16GB RAM | Os 10.12.6
Logic Pro 10.3.2 | RME Fireface UFX | Adam A7 + Sub8 | Spectrasonics | Softube
 
jdoo
Posts: 89
Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2012 5:08 pm

Re: Logic Pro X general information & tips

Sun Aug 04, 2013 6:29 am

Cycle Area Tip:
Add the "Swap Left and Right Locators" command to the control bar by right-clicking (it is invisible by default)
Better yet - instead: Command-Click a Cycle section and it will swap the ends, creating a skip cycle area
You can also Command-Drag to create a skip section (think this was the old way)
Last edited by jdoo on Sun Aug 04, 2013 6:35 am, edited 1 time in total.
Logic Pro 10.2.0 MainStage 2.2.2 OS X 10.11.1 iMac i5 2.7 8 GB
 
jdoo
Posts: 89
Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2012 5:08 pm

Re: Logic Pro X general information & tips

Sun Aug 04, 2013 6:34 am

Option-Clicking the disclosure triangle on a Track Stack opens all Track Stacks. Option-Clicking again, closes all Track Stacks.
Logic Pro 10.2.0 MainStage 2.2.2 OS X 10.11.1 iMac i5 2.7 8 GB
 
welaughatthesouth
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Aug 04, 2013 11:36 am

Re: Logic Pro X general information & tips

Sun Aug 04, 2013 11:43 am

Hello all


Is click-drag to zoom gone in the main arrange paige? Can I enable it somewhere in the preferences?
Logic 10.0.1, Mountain Lion 10.8.4., MBP C2D 2.2GHz 2007, 4GB RAM, Duet 1,Akai MPK Mini.
 
User avatar
Eric Cardenas
Moderator
Posts: 21466
Joined: Sat May 07, 2005 1:47 pm
Location: Uppsala, Sweden
Contact:

Re: Logic Pro X general information & tips

Sun Aug 04, 2013 12:50 pm

Try holding down Option.
Eric Bradley Cardenas
EC Making Sound
Mac mini 2.6 GHz 16GB RAM Areca⚡RAID | MacBook Pro 2.3 GHz 16GB RAM | Os 10.12.6
Logic Pro 10.3.2 | RME Fireface UFX | Adam A7 + Sub8 | Spectrasonics | Softube
 
User avatar
David Nahmani
Site Admin
Topic Author
Posts: 64411
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 12:16 am
Location: Valley Village, CA
Contact:

Re: Logic Pro X general information & tips

Wed Aug 07, 2013 10:12 am

Eric Cardenas wrote:
Try holding down Option.

Unfortunately it only works if you start dragging the background - if you start dragging a region then you're copying the region instead! :shock:

I use Control-Option. That way it always works whether I start dragging on the background or on a region.
David Nahmani
• My Logic Pro X 10.3 book (Apple Pro Training Series)
Contact me for Private Lessons
Logic Pro X 10.3.2 - Mac OS X 10.12.3 - MacBook Air 1.3 GHz i5 - 4GB RAM
 
toontrap
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Aug 10, 2013 10:45 am

Re: Logic Pro X general information & tips

Sat Aug 10, 2013 12:26 pm

Hi everybody.

Did you check out the free Logic Remote for iPad? I've found some great stuff in LPX, some new things to learn (that are really annoying when you're running against a deadline) but nothing has had as much impact on my workflow as the iPad app. You can custom make 'hardware' buttons for frequently used functions. Like toggle hide/show movie (huge timesaver/convenience-enhancer if you view video's you score for at the same screen you work in). And the buttons just tell you what they do, so no more guessing or looking it up. Replace the preset buttons by tap-holding them with two fingers.

Everything you do regularly that involves looking for a submenu in a submenu can now be reduced to pushing a clearly labeled button. That saves hours on a project, rather than minutes. And for people that never checked out logic's key commands: that's like buying a guitar and never tuning it. Lot's of functions are only in the key-commands and not accessible through any menu. Like 'play from left side of the screen' or my favorite: 'capture last take as recording'. As you're jamming on a loop (with a controller keyboard, not audio), and you're like, yeah, that went right. I wished I had recorded that one. You just hit the button on the iPad and it's there! I actually record everything that way, as I rarely get it right the first take. Memorizing al teose key commands is a pain, and I always keep forgetting them. Having them at the desk as colorful labeled buttons finally unleashes their true power.

So to me the Logic Remote is the biggest improvement in LPX. I place the iPad on the midi keyboard and don't have to turn to the computer anymore while recording. I take it to the couch and hit play if I want to listen to a mix from a distance. If you don't have an iPad, getting one might be the most rewarding investment to improve your workflow. I have hardly touched our Mackie control since I have the app.
 
welaughatthesouth
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Aug 04, 2013 11:36 am

Re: Logic Pro X general information & tips

Sun Aug 11, 2013 1:35 am

Thanks!

Since I'm here already, has logic pro introduced a way to pitch audio samples without using speed flex? I'm trying to pitch shift drum samples. Flex Pitch and Speed aren't that great on drums.

I was hoping I could find something in the new track editor area. Any tips?
Logic 10.0.1, Mountain Lion 10.8.4., MBP C2D 2.2GHz 2007, 4GB RAM, Duet 1,Akai MPK Mini.
 
User avatar
Glenn Lancaster
Posts: 825
Joined: Fri Jun 20, 2008 2:06 pm
Location: The Windmills of my Mind

Re: Logic Pro X general information & tips

Mon Aug 12, 2013 12:19 pm

The kits in Drum Kit Designer are pretty good, but anyways, here's one: you can substitute a 3rd party plugin for Drum Kit Designer in Drummer, IF you can set the plugin to work in GM mode. Tried it with Addictive Drums, works fine, but if you change the drummer, the kit changes back to the default for that drummer.
Late 2015 27" iMac, i7, 4ghz, 32 gb RAM, OS10.11.6, Logic 9.1.8., Logic Pro 10.3.2, RME FF802, Novation 61SL Mk II. Martins and Fenders and Gibsons, oh my!
 
Assessor
Posts: 50
Joined: Thu Jun 08, 2006 8:38 am
Location: Sweden

Re: Logic Pro X general information & tips

Tue Aug 13, 2013 6:53 am

If you hold option while selecting a new drummer the active kit (Drum kit or 3rd party) will remain active.
Logic 10.3.2 - OSX 10.12.6 - MBP 13" mid 2012 (i5 2.5) 4 GB ram and 500 GB SSD - Duet Firewire
 
User avatar
ckbarlow
Posts: 73
Joined: Sun Aug 24, 2008 4:23 pm
Location: Baltimore, MD, USA
Contact:

Re: Logic Pro X general information & tips

Thu Aug 15, 2013 4:49 pm

Didn't see the Tuner in the "what's different" list at top of this thread. Rather than an insert, it's global and is only available when an audio track is selected, from what I'm seeing.

There's a good use for one of the FXX keys on the numeric keypad section. :-) I've got F16 set to show/hide it. I like the tuner's operation better than the legacy plug-in, too.
Logic Pro 10.2.4
MacBook Pro 2.6GHz Intel Core i7, 8GB RAM, 240GB internal SSD (mid 2012)
OS 10.11.4
iPad Mini ~fall 2013
MOTU 828 & Apogee One iOS/Mac; UAD Satellite Duo
 
User avatar
gdoubleyou
Posts: 961
Joined: Mon Mar 14, 2005 10:49 am
Location: Kirkland WA

Re: Logic Pro X Resources, Tips and Tricks

Fri Aug 16, 2013 9:47 am

While going through some old sessions, noticed the appearance of the Fuzz-Wah was different, soft of a wood grain motif.

You can now drag the Auto Wah, Comp, and Fuzz components to change their location in the signal chain.

I don't recall the enhancement being announced as a new and improved feature.

8)
G-Dub
G-Bop5000

LogicX 10.3.2 , 15 in. 2GHz Macbook Pro quad i7, Late 2012 2.3 GHz Mini OSX 10.12.8 Apollo Duo
 
User avatar
David Nahmani
Site Admin
Topic Author
Posts: 64411
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 12:16 am
Location: Valley Village, CA
Contact:

Re: Logic Pro X Resources, Tips and Tricks

Fri Aug 16, 2013 10:01 am

gdoubleyou wrote:
You can now drag the Auto Wah, Comp, and Fuzz components to change their location in the signal chain

Good one. I've added it to the list. :wink:
David Nahmani
• My Logic Pro X 10.3 book (Apple Pro Training Series)
Contact me for Private Lessons
Logic Pro X 10.3.2 - Mac OS X 10.12.3 - MacBook Air 1.3 GHz i5 - 4GB RAM
 
User avatar
David Nahmani
Site Admin
Topic Author
Posts: 64411
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 12:16 am
Location: Valley Village, CA
Contact:

Re: Logic Pro X general information & tips

Fri Aug 16, 2013 8:31 pm

jdoo wrote:
Option-Clicking the disclosure triangle on a Track Stack opens all Track Stacks. Option-Clicking again, closes all Track Stacks.

Cool. Adding that. :D
David Nahmani
• My Logic Pro X 10.3 book (Apple Pro Training Series)
Contact me for Private Lessons
Logic Pro X 10.3.2 - Mac OS X 10.12.3 - MacBook Air 1.3 GHz i5 - 4GB RAM
 
User avatar
David Nahmani
Site Admin
Topic Author
Posts: 64411
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 12:16 am
Location: Valley Village, CA
Contact:

Re: Logic Pro X general information & tips

Fri Aug 16, 2013 8:34 pm

welaughatthesouth wrote:
Thanks!

Since I'm here already, has logic pro introduced a way to pitch audio samples without using speed flex? I'm trying to pitch shift drum samples. Flex Pitch and Speed aren't that great on drums.

I was hoping I could find something in the new track editor area. Any tips?


This thread is not really meant for asking question. It's meant for sharing general information and tricks and tips about Logic Pro X.

Create a new topic for your question in the Logic Pro forum. Thank you!
David Nahmani
• My Logic Pro X 10.3 book (Apple Pro Training Series)
Contact me for Private Lessons
Logic Pro X 10.3.2 - Mac OS X 10.12.3 - MacBook Air 1.3 GHz i5 - 4GB RAM
 
User avatar
David Nahmani
Site Admin
Topic Author
Posts: 64411
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 12:16 am
Location: Valley Village, CA
Contact:

Re: Logic Pro X general information & tips

Sun Aug 18, 2013 9:37 am

ckbarlow wrote:
Didn't see the Tuner in the "what's different" list at top of this thread. Rather than an insert, it's global and is only available when an audio track is selected, from what I'm seeing.

Thanks, great point - although it still an insert and not a global tuner, it's just accessible quickly from a button on the Control bar. Clicking that button creates an input channel strip with a Tuner plug-in inserted for that input. But if you select another track with another input and click the Tuner button again it has to create another channel strip for that input, and you'll see two different Tuner plug-ins.

Still I'm adding a mention in the original post of this thread.
David Nahmani
• My Logic Pro X 10.3 book (Apple Pro Training Series)
Contact me for Private Lessons
Logic Pro X 10.3.2 - Mac OS X 10.12.3 - MacBook Air 1.3 GHz i5 - 4GB RAM
 
Silas Town
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Aug 18, 2013 3:26 pm

Re: Logic Pro X Resources, Tips and Tricks

Fri Aug 23, 2013 7:37 pm

You can click and drag markers to the Arrange track.
What would be cool is if you could click and expand a song section on the Arrange track
and reveal a 'sub-track' that shows the chords,if applicable to any midi, in a song.

Sadly the chord track is forever gone now :(
Mid 2012 Macbook Pro Non-Retina 2.3ghz i7 16 gig RAM
Internal SSHD system drive and 7200 HD OWC Data Doubler
OSX 10.8.4 Logic Pro 9.1.8, Logic Pro X
Project Mix I/O Black Lion Mod, Apogee One v1
 
rzzzy1
Posts: 60
Joined: Thu Jun 11, 2009 10:07 pm

Re: Logic Pro X Resources, Tips and Tricks

Sat Aug 24, 2013 6:17 pm

Logic Pro Remote (version 1.01 at least) will store an apparently endless number of Keyboard shortcuts - I'm up to 11 pages x18 now and it just keeps adding more. Very cool.
  • 1
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8