A technical support community for Apple Logic Pro users.

 
PDJMDS
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2020 4:15 am

Re: PDC broken with external side-chain

Wed May 20, 2020 3:38 am

I have done the same
I might have to make an eye candy sensational video with bold capitals saying 'LOGIC IS BROKEN, DON'T BUY IT', being as its the 21st century and matter of fact things seem to be less effective. :-D
 
User avatar
ted_manzie
Posts: 136
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2008 2:05 am

Re: PDC broken with external side-chain

Sat May 23, 2020 6:03 am

It seems that Apple/Logic are simply unable to fix this bug. Whatever is causing it they must find that if you fix one thing it breaks another and so the only option is to ignore it and hope most people never notice. It has been talked about as a critical bug for years now, they fixed hundreds of issues with 10.5 and not this. So that seems to be that.

I tried it out again last night automating High Pass EQ cutoffs in time with 1/8th notes. Works fine but then put a high latency plug on the same channel strip after the EQ and the automation goes out of time.

I know Logic devs must be under NDAs but surely someone must be able to get someone to comment off the record about this? Do they work from Area 51? :D
Last edited by ted_manzie on Sat May 23, 2020 7:58 am, edited 1 time in total.
iMac Mid 2011 27" 3.4ghz i7 16GB / OSX 10.12.6 / Logic Pro 10.4.4
 
AMD
Posts: 433
Joined: Mon Nov 08, 2010 5:36 am
Location: London, England

Re: PDC broken with external side-chain

Sat May 23, 2020 7:16 am

logness wrote:
NOT FIXED in 10.5!!! I'm speechless.

"Logic side-chain bug"

create track “audio 1”
create track “audio 2”

route track “audio 1” over “bus 1” to “aux 1”
insert latency inducing plugin “Linear Phase EQ” into “aux 1”
route “aux 1” over “bus 2” to “aux 2”

route track “audio 2” over “bus 3” to “aux 3”

insert plugin “Compressor” to “aux 3”
change side chain of the compressor to “bus 2”

put a identical drum-loop on both tracks

result:
audio 1 <-> audio 2 are NOT in sync


Hello logness and everyone trying to get to the bottom of this horrendous issue. I'd just like to say that I've also submitted a report to Apple including the threads and videos from this site along with the fact that PDC also doesn't work for me in Logic 10.4.8.

I can see that this is a very complex problem and I'm just trying to understand it properly. As a work around in your example logness, can a sample delay be used on audio track 2 to delay the audio on that track by the same amount the audio has been delayed by the linear phase EQ on Aux 1?
MBP Retina, Mid 2012. 2.6Ghz i7, 16GB RAM, Logic X 10.4.8, OSX 10.14.6, Focusrite Scarlett 2i2, Komplete 10 Ultimate, Kontrol S61
 
User avatar
ozinga
Posts: 121
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2007 5:12 pm
Location: Istanbul
Contact:

Re: PDC broken with external side-chain

Sun May 24, 2020 3:38 am

It is probably not possible with the current audio engine. Otherwise makes no sense for them not to fix it with 10.5 which has tons of fixes.
 
dylanjb
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue May 19, 2020 11:48 am

Re: PDC broken with external side-chain

Mon May 25, 2020 3:33 am

ozinga wrote:
It is probably not possible with the current audio engine. Otherwise makes no sense for them not to fix it with 10.5 which has tons of fixes.

Perhaps not, but if that’s the case then Apple shouldn’t state that Logic applies plug-in delay compensation to the playhead in their release notes. There is no excuse, especially when other DAW manufacturers can make it work in their products. If this is an oversight, it sure is one big oversight! What’s going on Apple? Would really appreciate it if someone over there could perhaps chime in or at least enlighten us on the current situation. If not, I too will be moving to Cubase.
 
User avatar
ozinga
Posts: 121
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2007 5:12 pm
Location: Istanbul
Contact:

Re: PDC broken with external side-chain

Mon May 25, 2020 4:44 am

dylanjb wrote:
ozinga wrote:
It is probably not possible with the current audio engine. Otherwise makes no sense for them not to fix it with 10.5 which has tons of fixes.

Perhaps not, but if that’s the case then Apple shouldn’t state that Logic applies plug-in delay compensation to the playhead in their release notes. There is no excuse, especially when other DAW manufacturers can make it work in their products. If this is an oversight, it sure is one big oversight! What’s going on Apple? Would really appreciate it if someone over there could perhaps chime in or at least enlighten us on the current situation. If not, I too will be moving to Cubase.


Right. I totally agree. Cubase has a solid audio engine and great PDC. Best one around I think.
I am just guessing because a lot of audio engine related things are not changed.
For example still no 32bit. Not that I need it but people work with it and when you get files they get converted to 24bit. Also for some reason lots of sample packs started to become 32bit and Logic can not audition them within the browser.
There is still laggy behavior when browsing loops.
Regions keep cycling for 1-2 seconds although you turn off it right at the end. Same thing with region solo on/off
Sampler does not have HQ interpolation option
Core Audio resets and reload every plugin in the session after changing buffer. Etc.
Things like these makes me think that they are all related to an old audio engine.
Maybe we will see these taken care of with V11